Go To Search
Click to Home

Driving Safety Course
Charge Dismissal
You may be able to request that a charge be dismissed by taking a Driving Safety Course (DSC). However, you will lose that right if you do not provide written notice to the court of your desire to do so on or before your appearance / court date. A written DSC notice is a notarized affidavit of eligibility or sworn request.

Do not take the course before you obtained permission from the court.

Eligibility Requirements
  • You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest
  • You must possess a valid Texas Driver's License
  • You must possess Texas Liability Insurance valid the day of your request
  • You must pay the State Cost and Administrative fee of $114 or $139, if the violation occurred in a school zone
  • You can not be charged with speeding in excess of 24 miles per hour
  • You can not currently be taking the course for another citation
  • Your Driving Record can not reflect completion of a Driving Safety Course within the twelve months preceding the date of the alleged offense
  • The offense can not have occurred in a construction zone with workers present

DSC Affidavit
You must provide the court with a sworn affidavit of eligibility listing all seven requirements that must be notarized and filed with the court by your court date. If you appear in person at the Court Clerks Office, please bring your valid Texas driver's license, insurance proof (showing that you were covered the date you received the citation and the date of your request) and administrative fee payment.

A Court Clerk will notarize the court's affidavit for you at no extra charge. Upon court approval to take the course, you will have 90 days in which to provide the court with the two following documents:
  1. The "Court Certificate" of completion of the Driving Safety Course from an agency approved by the Texas Education Agency.
  2. A certified copy of your driving record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Please request this immediately, as it may take several weeks to receive. If both of these documents are not filed with the court within 90 days, you may be responsible for paying the remainder of your fine, and a conviction for the offense will be reported to the Texas DPS.