Best Practice

The Texas Fire Chief’s Association’s Best Practices program provides an avenue of departmental evaluation on 12 areas of fire service concentration:

  • Administration and Organization
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Training
  • Special Operations
  • Records and Information Management
  • Fire Operations
  • Fire Prevention, Risk Reduction, Community Outreach
  • Response Analysis
  • Communications
  • Safety and Health
  • Resource Management
  • Professional Standards and Conduct
The initial accreditation takes tremendous amount of time, documentation, and evaluations of process and procedures. Once a department achieves the TFCA Best Practice Accreditation that department must constantly maintain and re-evaluate the process to ensure that the department sustains the required level of service to be recognized as a TFCA Best Practice Department.

It is the goal of the Little Elm Fire Department to obtain its accreditation in 2015.